Perched high on the eastern wooded peak of Mt. Carmel, the Carmelite Monastery of the Mukhraqa offers stunning views of northern Israel and beyond from its roof top lookout. Located southeast of Haifa on the same mountain range, the monastery was built in 1868 and belongs to the Catholic order of Barefoot Carmelites.
The Mukhraqa is dedicated to the site where the Prophet Elijah competed with 450 priests of Baal sent by King Ahab and then slew them. In the courtyard in front of the monastery is a statue of Elijah, sword raised over his head as he stands over the bearded figure of a priest of Baal. The name Mukhraqa means burnt or scorched in Arabic, in reference to the way in which, according Kings 1, 18, the Prophet Elijah’s offering was consumed – it was soaking wet and everything was consumed including the alter, earth and all by a fire sent from heaven.
A set of stairs next to its gift shop leads up to its rooftop observation point. The monastery’s roof offers an outstanding view of much northern Israel from the Mediterranean Sea in the west, the hills of Samaria, Jezreel Valley below clear across the country to Jordan and across the Galilee to Mt. Hermon on Israel border with Syria and even into southern Lebanon. A compass rose with directional arrows indicating to significant sites is painted on the rooftop.
We recommend phoning ahead to avoid surprise closings: 052-877-9686.
See also our ideas for other trips in the Carmel area.
Modest Dress Required – No shorts or sleeveless.